The Most Intimate Relationship

Our relationship with the Lord is the most intimate relationship we will ever have.  No one will ever love you more than He does.  He came to this earth knowing the price He would have to pay for us and loved us enough to pay that price.  He knows our deepest desires, thoughts, feelings and fears.  He loves us regardless of our biggest mistakes and failures. 

He knows we are infants and children who are seeking to learn and grow in order to become the person we were created and placed on this earth to become, while realizing that purpose for which He created us and what He has assigned each of us to accomplish for His kingdom.  Becoming a Christian does not mean we are to wake up suddenly converted into perfect beings, who are not allowed to ever make another mistake or experience another failure.  Becoming a Christian means being reborn a second birth as a child of God.  It means being an infant in our faith and learning, growing and maturing in His Word, His will and His ways.  It means not being perfect but seeking to grow and be Christ like, as much as we are each capable of being.

So many times over the years I’ve heard “You can’t do that and be a Christian”.  Making a mistake does not mean I am not a Christian.  Making a mistake as a Christian simply means that I am a child of God with the key word being ‘child’.  I am a child that is learning and growing and being at a different level of growth and achievement in my relationship with the Lord does not make me any less a Christian than anyone else. I don’t know of anyone who would expect an infant to master the skills of a toddler, or expect a toddler to master the skills of an adolescent.  Nor does our Heavenly Father expect us to suddenly become mastered Christians overnight.  Growing as a child of God is no different from growing as children.  Our Father doesn’t have these unrealistic expectations of us.  We don’t have these unrealistic expectations of our children nor does He have them for us.

I think as Christians we all too often compare ourselves to others and begin the process of self-condemnation all over again because we have not yet reached the level of growth as other Christians may have obtained.  That’s one thing that prevented me from writing my book for seven years.  I wasn’t as ‘matured’ as this person or that person and all those around me would condemn me and put me down.  I also think it is one reason that people don’t claim to be Christians because they compare themselves to others and feel they don’t measure up.  Don’t compare yourself to anyone.  Your relationship with the Lord is yours and yours alone.  It is the most intimate relationship you will ever have.  I hope you understand that.  Read His Word, learn and grow in Him.  Spend time in prayer with Him by simply talking to Him.  If there is something that you feel He expects of you that you’re not capable of doing, ask Him for His help.  Seek Him.

He is patient, He is forgiving and He is kind.  He loves you and wants only the best for you.  He died on the cross for you and paid the ultimate price for you.  He has promised to deliver you from the fire.  He has assured us that His plans for us are to prosper us and not cause us harm.  All He wants is for us to accept Him, seek Him, grow in Him, love Him and be obedient to Him.  It is my desire that if you know Him you will desire more of Him and seek Him.  If you do not know Him it is my desire that you will come to know Him.  My relationship with Him is the most intimate relationship I will ever have.  I pray your relationship with Him will be your most intimate relationship as well.

About The Pursuit of Purpose

I am a Christian, wife, mother and grandmother. I have three daughters and one grandson. My husband is working in Afghanistan as a civilian contractor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment